

CONTACT Scott Johnson Executive Secretary Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

News Release

Montezuma FFA Wins Iowa FFA Farm Business Management CDE

The Montezuma FFA Chapter from Montezuma was named the Champion Team in the annual Iowa FFA Farm Management Career Development Event held at Iowa State University in Ames on April 11, 2017. Members of the first place team included: Vance Bushong, Ashley Armstrong, Aoife Lyons, and Shelby Helm. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Rick Swenson and Ms. Lindsey Schanbacher. They will represent Iowa at the National Farm Management Career Development Event in Indianapolis, Indiana, in October. The Osage FFA Chapter from Osage was named the Reserve Champion Team. Members of the second place team included: Matthew Klaes, Adam Koch, Joe Popp, and Michael Uthe. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mrs. Melissa Moretz. Vance Bushong, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma, was named the High Individual Overall in the competition. The Southeast Polk FFA Chapter from Pleasant Hill was the winner of the Team Participation Activity.

FFA teams from 83 chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event designed to provide the student an opportunity to display their agricultural knowledge and skills in the area of Farm Management. The 298 individuals who participated in the event each completed an objective test which had three sections: economic principles, records and analysis, and risk management. All team members worked together to solve a problem related to break even analysis.

The Iowa FFA Farm Business Management Career Development Event was made possible with support from the Iowa Farm Business Association through the Iowa FFA Foundation. Dr. Ron Deiter, Professor of Economics at Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, was the Career Development Event coordinator and prepared the test with assistance from Dr. Georgeane Artz, Assistant Professor of Economics.

<u>Top 10 Teams</u>

- 1 Montezuma FFA, Montezuma
- 2 Osage FFA, Osage
- 3 ACGC FFA
- 4 St. Ansgar FFA, St. Ansgar
- 5 West Lyon FFA, Inwood
- 6 Lynnville-Sully FFA, Sully
- 7 Southeast Polk FFA, Pleasant Hill
- 8 Chariton FFA, Chariton
- 9 North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union
- 10 Newton FFA, Newton

Top 10 Individuals

Vance Bushong, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Ashley Armstrong, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Matthew Klaes, Osage FFA, Osage Aaron Gerdts, St. Ansgar FFA, St. Ansgar Matthew Appler, North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union Aoife Lyons, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Shelby Helm, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Adam Koch, Osage FFA, Osage Caleb Finnegan, ACGC FFA Kaden Gray, Chariton FFA, Chariton Below is a list of chapters participating by medal group.

Gold Teams (30)

Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Osage FFA, Osage ACGC FFA St. Ansgar FFA, St. Ansgar West Lyon FFA, Inwood Lynnville-Sully FFA, Sully Southeast Polk FFA, Pleasant Hill Chariton FFA, Chariton North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union Newton FFA, Newton Starmont FFA, Arlington Algona FFA, Algona Adel DeSoto Minburn Holland FFA, Orange City East Sac FFA, Lake View Atlantic FFA, Atlantic Cascade FFA Tri-Center FFA, Neola Davis-Rodgers FFA, Shenandoah Dallas Center-Grimes FFA, Grimes West Liberty FFA, West Liberty Monticello FFA, Monticello Crestwood FFA, Cresco Bedford FFA, Bedford Vinton-Shellsburg FFA, Vinton Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood Charles City FFA, Charles City Calamus-Wheatland FFA, Wheatland Washington FFA, Washington Gilbert FFA, Gilbert

Bronze Teams (25)

South O'Brien FFA @ Paullina Manson-Northwest Webster FFA, Manson Waverly-Shell Rock FFA, Waverly Newell-Fonda FFA, Newell Harlan FFA, Harlan AGWSR FFA, Ackley West Dubuque FFA, Epworth Turkey Valley FFA at Jackson Junction West Fork FFA Iowa Falls-Alden FFA, Iowa Falls Williamsburg FFA, Williamsburg Independence FFA Chapter Woodward-Granger FFA, Woodward Winterset FFA, Winterset Silver Teams (29)

Interstate 35 FFA, Truro Hudson FFA, Hudson Roland-Story FFA, Story City Audubon FFA, Audubon Mediapolis FFA, Mediapolis Brokaw FFA, Clarinda LeMars FFA Chapter, LeMars Riceville FFA, Riceville Forest City FFA, Forest City Pilot Creek FFA, Pocahontas Southeast Warren FFA, Liberty Center Hawkeye FFA, West Bend New Hampton FFA, New Hampton Keota FFA, Keota Tri-County FFA, Thornburg Central Lee FFA, Donnellson Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi South Central Calhoun FFA, Lake City Carroll Area FFA, Carroll Sioux Central FFA, Sioux Rapids Missouri Valley FFA Chapter Belle Plaine FFA, Belle Plaine West Delaware FFA, Manchester Western Christian FFA, Hull East Union FFA, Afton Rock Valley FFA, Rock Valley Nashua Plainfield FFA, Nashua Mount Ayr FFA, Mount Ayr North Scott FFA, Eldridge

OA-BCIG FFA Linn-Mar FFA, Marion North Mahaska FFA, New Sharon Diamond Trail FFA, Monroe Grundy Center FFA, Grundy Center Albia FFA Chapter, Albia Kingsley-Pierson FFA, Kingsley Unity Christian FFA Oelwein FFA, Oelwein Griswold FFA, Griswold

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,800 student members as part of 232 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.